Pitch Engine
The Property Pack


Big Wave icons Mahati Drollet (PYF) and Greg Long (USA) welcome Tag Heuer as the official timekeeper of the WSL Big Wave Tour.
Big Wave icons Mahati Drollet (PYF) and Greg Long (USA) welcome Tag Heuer as the official timekeeper of the WSL Big Wave Tour.

Los Angeles, California/USA (Saturday, May 2, 2015) - The World Surf League (WSL) and TAG Heuer today announced the Swiss watchmaker’s sponsorship as “Official Timekeeper” of the WSL Big Wave Tour (BWT), lending the company’s reputation for “Avant-Garde” to a sport that champions fearlessness, athleticism and places a premium on quality and preparedness.
This multi-year partnership will see the TAG Heuer inject its #DontCrackUnderPressure campaign into the heart of big wave surfing, serving as the Official Watch of the tour, and supporting the “Biggest Wave” and “Biggest Wipeout” components of the annual WSL Big Wave Awards.
Jean-Claude Biver, President of the LVMH Group Watch Division and CEO of TAG Heuer commented: “Be Unique, Different and the First has always been my personal philosophy in my 40 years of activities, from product development to marketing and sponsoring. TAG Heuer is the first luxury brand to enter the Surf World. Our motto #DontCrackUnderPressure fits perfectly with the WSL Big Wave Tour and makes our partnership different and innovative. It will give TAG Heuer a great boost in terms of connecting with young people, with the support of our friend Kai Lenny and his highly contagious enthusiasm."
“When the WSL acquired the Big Wave Tour and Big Wave Awards, we believed it was an opportunity to elevate some of the most inspiring sportsmen on the planet and their passions to a bigger stage,” Paul Speaker, WSL CEO, said. “This elevation has not only seen a surge in attention to this incredible sport but has also provided the League with the opportunity to partner with world-class entities. We’re thrilled to announce TAG Heuer as the Official Timekeeper of Big Wave surfing and we look forward to a long and fruitful partnership.”
Join the world’s best big wave surfers on the 2015/2016 WSL Big Wave Tour, accessible on WorldSurfLeague.com

- Quiksilver Ceremonial: Punta de Lobos, Chile (April 15, 2015 - August 31, 2015) - won by Makuakai Rothman (HAW)
- Billabong Pico Alto: Pico Alto, Peru (May 15, 2015 - September 15, 2015)
- Puerto Escondido Challenge: Puerto Escondido, Mexico (May 15, 2015 - September 15, 2015)
- Oregon Challenge: Lincoln City, Oregon (October 15, 2015 - February 28, 2016)
- Punta Galea Challenge: Punta Galea, Basque Country Spain (October 15, 2015 - February 28, 2016)
- Pea’hi Challenge: Haiku, Hawaii (October 15, 2015 - February 28, 2016)
- Todos Santos Challenge: Todos Santo, Mexico (November 15, 2015 - March 31, 2016)

About the World Surf League

The World Surf League (WSL) organizes the annual tour of professional surf competitions and broadcasts each event live at WorldSurfLeague.com where you can experience the athleticism, drama and adventure of competitive surfing -- anywhere and anytime it’s on. The WSL sanctions and operates the following tours: the Junior Tour, Longboard Tour, the Qualifying Series (QS), the Big Wave Tour and the crown jewel of the sport, the WSL Championship Tour (CT) which determines the sport's undisputed world champions. The organization is headquartered in Santa Monica, California with Commercial Offices in New York. The offices are supported by regional centers in Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America and South America.